When I Came to You

When I came to you

I could only see your magnitude

The all-consuming blaze of you

The fire in your eyes

When I came to you

I could not hear above the roar

Of a thousand crashing waterfalls

As your voice cascaded down

And caused all my words

To capsize

 

When I came to you

I’d never stood before a king

I didn’t know which song to sing

That would be of any worth

When I came to you

My thoughts froze inside my head

And I dropped down like I was dead

For this sacredness was not

Like anything I’d

Known before

 

When I lay at your feet

You reached out your hand to me

And I felt your humanity

The warmth of your hand upon my head

When I lay at your feet

You told me not to be afraid

And I could never, to this day

Express the freedom

I found in

Your voice

 

This Saviour of mine

So holy and divine

Yet ever with his hand

Upon my head

This Holy Lamb of God

Beyond all space and time

Yet he hems me in

Behind and ahead

 

 

 

2 Comments Add yours

  1. kim says:

    Love this Victoria. Thank you for sharing! Just like touching what is like beautiful heart for God. 💓

    Like

  2. Pam says:

    That’s really lovely 💕

    Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

