Find You

Sometimes you are found

In rock-laden soil

Buried deep down

So that if I am to find you

I must dig until my hands are raw

My fingers sore

 

Sometimes you are hidden

In fields of weeds

Under gnarled and knotted roots

Under years of rotted leaves

And it takes patience and persistence

To unearth you

 

At other times you wait for me

In unexpected places

At the end of a road

At the end of my rope

In the bottom of the barrel

Or within my last hope

 

And sometimes you are found

on concrete floors

Lying there with arms of grace

Stretched out to break my fall

 

And occasionally from time to time

I turn around

And there you stand

When I haven’t been looking

for you

at all

Leave a Reply

